Abandoned in the 60´s by its inhabitants who emigrated to America, the village was rebuilt by Teotónia and Carlos who wisely established the link between the past and the present recovering the rural outline of the stone houses and adapting them to current needs.
Without hurries, immerse in the chirping of the birds and the fragrance of fresh grass and laurels with the sweet scent of Cana Roca. In this world where the landscape inebriates, tranquility is a faithful coimpanion. This is paradise.
Aldeia da Cuada is part of the parish of Fajã Grande. Set up on 1676, it was already inhabited in the early eighteen century. The oldest document that was found was a parish registration of a marriage dated 8th November 1705.
The only statistic of the Cuada population dates back to the first quarter of the nineteenth century, at a time when the population of Flores was near its maximum, which it reached at the beginning of the second half of the nineteenth century. At the time Cuada had 122 inhabitants spread over 20 very modest homes. Of the 61 men who llived here at that time, not one wore shoes and only two houses had a roof covering them.
Without easy access to the sea, Cuada´s main source of livelihood for centuries wa the agriculture. The other source of some income was weaving, since the place become a real hotbed of weavers, with houses that had two to three looms, sought due to all the care they put into their work.